Who and Where


The programme was initiated around the middle of 2003 by the Nuclear Geophysics Division of the Kernfysisch Versneller Instituut, Rijksuniversiteit Groningen, around the middle of 2003. At an early stage the KVI and iThemba LABS, in collaboration with the University of Cape Town, South Africa, started to further develop the idea and initiated the first test experiments. In the beginning of 2004 the first series of funding was granted, which allowed the programme to kick-off. In 2005 the KVI withdrew from the programme.

On 1 September 2005 the University of Groningen, the Netherlands Institute for Radio Astronomy (ASTRON) and the private foundation JADE of Curaçao established the Stichting (Foundation) Earth AntineutRino TomograpHy (Stichting EARTH).

The board of the Stichting presently consists of:

  • Mr. Jacob Gelt Dekker: Chairman;
  • Prof. Wim van Westrenen: Secretary;
  • Mr. Henk Koopmans: Treasurer;
  • Prof. dr. R. Lindsay:;.

On a daily basis the Stichting EARTH is represented by its director: Prof. Rob de Meijer.
The Advisory Board of Stichting EARTH consists of:

  • Prof. Gerard 't Hooft, Theoretical Physics, Utrecht University ;
  • Prof. Harry N.A. Priem, Emeritus professor Earth Sciences, Utrecht University ;
Stichting EARTH is collaborating with INCAS3 at Assen (NL) in the development of reliable, long-term stable electronics for stand-alone PMT based detector systems.

Detector development to a large extent takes place in South Africa as part of a Memorandum of Understanding between Stichting EARTH and iThemba LABS (iTL), University of the Western Cape (UWC), University of Cape Town (UCT) and Stellenbosch University (SUN). In addition the Koeberg Nuclear Power Station (ESKOM) collaborates and provides us with locations to test our antineutrino monitors. Moreover the South African National Research Foundation has granted UCT with funding to acquire electronics and detectors for direction sensitive antineutrino detectors and a PhD position to SUN to work on the indirect detection of antineutrinos.

At various stages of the development programme financial support and support in kind was obtained from ASTRON, SENSOR UNIVERSE, Stichting JADE, Reactor Institute Delft and the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs as part of the Member State Support Programme (MSSP) of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA). Also UWC, UCT, SUN and iTL contribute as well financially as in kind to the development programme.

On the geoscience topics the main collaboration takes places with the Faculty of Life and Earth Sciences of the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam. On the reactor physics and hydrodynamic aspects of the georeactor leading to the Moon formation we work together with Em. Prof. W. Seifritz in Haussen (CH) and dr. Vladimir Anisisckin of the Lavrentyev Institute of Hydrodynamics, Siberian Branch of Russian Academy of Sciences, Novosibirsk, Russia.

Home | General | Organization | Contact | Site Map Copyright © 2008-2019 Stichting EARTH. All Rights Reserved.